COMMENTS





This special issue of *Fusion Science and Technology* (FS&T) contains selected full-length, peerreviewed papers from the Seventeenth Target Fabrication Specialists' Meeting (TFSM), held in San Diego, California, October 1–5, 2006. These meetings provide an important international forum for scientists and engineers engaged in the development and fabrication of targets for experiments on large laser and pulsed-power facilities. Dr. Joe Kilkenny (General Atomics) and Dr. David Harding (University of Rochester Laboratory for Laser Energetics) served as cochairs. Dr. Robert C. Cook, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, served as guest editor for this

issue and has done an outstanding job in interfacing with the authors and reviewers of the papers to put this collection together. This was Dr. Cook's third guest editorship with the TFSM series of meetings published in *FS&T*, an unprecedented act of dedication. We are deeply indebted to all.

Fusion Science and Technology is extremely pleased to continue to publish papers from the TFSM series of meetings, a tradition started with the Tenth TFSM (see prior special issues in former *Fusion Technology*, Vols. 28, 31, 34, and 38; and *FS&T* special issues in Vol. 41, No. 3, 2002; Vol. 45, No. 3, 2004; and Vol. 49, No. 4, 2006).

This special issue covers a good cross section of the progress reported at the meeting and documents the technical challenges and progress in the exciting field of inertial fusion target fabrication, both for present experiments and for future power plants.

We congratulate the 2006 Larry Foreman Award winner Dr. Masaru Takagi (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) for his innovative work in development of inertial fusion energy targets. The award was presented at the meeting and marks the fifth occasion of this award.

We extend special appreciation to the sponsors for their support, the organizers for their assistance, the reviewers for their effort, and the authors for their work. Our thanks to all who made this issue possible.

Nermin A. Uckan