## PREFACE

## 14TH TOPICAL MEETING ON THE TECHNOLOGY OF FUSION ENERGY

## **GLEN LONGHURST**

Idaho National Engineering and Environmental Laboratory P.O. Box 1625, Idaho Falls, Idaho 83415

The 14th American Nuclear Society (ANS) Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy was sponsored by the Idaho and NORCAL sections of the ANS, the Fusion Energy Division (FED) of the ANS, and the Fusion Engineering Division of the Atomic Energy Society of Japan (AESJ). Plenary sessions provided participants with an overview of activities in four different topical areas: fusion in major programs around the world; innovative concept developments; next-step options and system studies; and safety, waste management, and licensing. On each day, following the plenary session, parallel oral sessions were grouped into several technology areas, including advanced design, alternate and advanced concepts, chamber technology, Flibe issues, nonelectric applications, plasma technology, and safety and environment.

Participants were hosted at an excellent reception sponsored by the Fusion Engineering Division of the AESJ. Guests and some conferees made an excursion into the backwoods of the American West on Tuesday afternoon, riding on the Heber Valley railroad. Others spent casual moments strolling the quaint streets of Park City or shopping at the nearby factory outlet malls.

Dr. Jerry Kulcisnski, on behalf of the ANS FED, presented the FED's Outstanding Achievement Award to Dr. Michael Williams, of Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, and the Outstanding Technical Accomplishment Award to Dr. David Petti, of the Idaho National Engineering and Environmental Laboratory; the Student Award was presented to Luis Chacón de la Rosa, who recently received his doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and is currently employed at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Also, Dr. Jeff Latkowski, of the meeting organizing committee, presented a plaque to Susana Reyes for the best student paper at the conference. Following the presentations, a medley of cowboy songs and poetry was provided by the "Cowfolks."

On behalf of the organizing committee, I express special appreciation to Marie Warnick, conference administrator, whose organizational genius and expert overseership were essential to the meeting's success; to Lee Cadwallader and Phil Sharpe, of the publications committee, without whose tireless efforts this special issue could not have been produced; to the session chairs and the many reviewers, who have assured quality in presentations and in the papers published in this issue; and to the authors, whose efforts and talents are represented by their works herein published. Finally, we thank the ANS for allowing the meeting to be held as a stand-alone conference and the staff of *Fusion Technology* for their assistance in publication of this issue.