## COMMENTS





This special issue of *Fusion Science & Technology* (*FS&T*) continues the tradition of publishing selected full-length papers from the Target Fabrication Meetings (TFMs). The Twentieth TFM was held in Santa Fe, New Mexico, May 20–24, 2012. There were about 90 papers presented at the meeting, and after peer review, 34 full-length papers are included in this issue.

The TFMs provide an important international forum for scientists and engineers engaged in the development and fabrication of targets for experiments on large laser and pulsed-power facilities. Dr. Kimberly Obrey served as chair, and

the conference organizer was Ms. Peggy Vigil, both of Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). Our appreciation goes to Dr. Obrey, Ms. Vigil, and LANL support staff for their assistance with the organization and planning of the technical program. Once again, Dr. Robert Cook, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (retired), served as the guest editor and has done an outstanding job in interfacing with the authors and reviewers of the papers to put this collection together. This was Dr. Cook's sixth guest editorship with the TFM series published in *FS&T*. We are deeply indebted to him for his tireless help and professional dedication to this important field.

The *FS&T* tradition of publishing TFM papers started with the Tenth TFM. For prior special issues, see former *Fusion Technology* issues Vols. 28, 31, 34, and 38 and *FS&T* issues Vol. 41, No. 3, 2002; Vol. 45, No. 2, 2004; Vol. 49, No. 4, 2006; Vol. 51, No. 4, 2007; Vol. 55, Nos. 3 and 4, 2009; and Vol. 59, No. 1, 2011.

Our congratulations go to the 2012 Larry Foreman Award winner, Dr. Robert Day, of LANL, for his outstanding contributions to precision engineering, materials science, and target fabrication and for his leadership at LANL. The award was presented at the meeting and marks the eighth occasion of this award.

We extend special appreciation to the sponsors for their support, the organizers for their assistance, the reviewers for their effort, and the authors for their work. Our thanks go to all who made this issue possible.

Nermin A. Uckan