American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Michael Podowski Receives Arthur Holly Compton Award from ANS

Honor recognizes contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) has recognized Michael Podowski with the 2014 Arthur Holly Compton Award. Mr. Podowski will be presented with the award at the 2014 ANS Annual Meeting in Reno, NV.

Mr. Podowski is currently a Professor in the Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Nuclear Engineering and the Director of the Center for Multiphase Research at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from Warsaw University of Technology.

This award was established in 1966 in honor of the late Arthur Holly Compton to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering. The award is funded through an endowment by the wife of Edward Malinckrodt, Jr. and by George E. Malinckrodt, and is administered by the Education, Training, and Workforce Development Division (ETWDD) of ANS.

Currently with more than 35 prestigious awards, the American Nuclear Society has a vigorous program to honor outstanding achievement and meritorious service in the various fields served by our Society. Through its honors and awards program, ANS is proud to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of nuclear science and technology professionals. Awards range from elevation of a member to Fellow grade for outstanding accomplishment to named awards honoring highly respected individuals in their field.


Media Contact:
Outreach Department|708-579-8224